Wuhan, with a population of over 11 million, is the capital and largest city of Hubei Province, the ninth-most populous Chinese city and one of the nine National Central Cities of China. The metropolitan area comprises three parts — Wuchang, Hankou, and Hanyang — commonly called the “Three Towns of Wuhan”. The city lies in the eastern Jianghan Plain, at the confluence of the Yangtze river and its largest tributary, the Han River, and is known as “Nine Provinces’ Thoroughfare” (九省通衢).


Considered the political, economic, financial, commercial, cultural and educational center of Central China, Wuhan is a major transportation hub, with dozens of railways, roads and expressways passing through the city and connecting to other major cities. Because of its key role in domestic transportation, Wuhan is sometimes referred to as “the Chicago of China”.


Wuhan consists of three national development zones, four scientific and technological development parks, over 350 research institutes, 1,656 high tech enterprises, numerous enterprise incubators and investments from 230 Fortune Global 500 firms. The city is renown as a centre of education in China, being home to multiple notable institutes of higher education, including Wuhan University and the Huazhong University of Science and Technology.


Hubei cuisine is one of China’s ten major styles of cooking. With a history of more than 2,000 years and as a hub for land transport in China, Wuhan has gathered and mixed together various habits and customs from neighboring cities and provinces in all directions, which gives rise to a concentration of distinctive dishes.